The Greyhound

My bus stop is not in the most convenient place. Rather, it sits in the estuary of which the nicer parts of town meet the shadier parts. It’s a blurred line that one could not place and only acknowledge ah yes, that quaint candy store is just two blocks away from the psychic reading shack. Thus, I usually sprint home, securing my things in my pockets before I get off the bus, or pull on my hood with the end pin to my cello twirling between my fingertips.

But it was raining the day that I met The Greyhound. It was too slippery to dash anywhere. I pulled out my 3 dollar, polka-dot umbrella as I thanked the driver and The Greyhound walked swiftly from behind me. I never talked to people from the bus often, especially ones whom I did not recognize. But it was raining, and The Greyhound only wore a sweatshirt and quickly soaking cargo shorts. The rain droplets fell over long, Latin features and through short, centimeter long hair. Without hesitation, much to my own surprise, I sped up to The Greyhound.

“You’re going to get yourself a cold.” I remarked, and held my umbrella over his head. The Greyhound plucked one ear bud from his ears and muttered an,

“Oh, thanks.” and we walked on.

Although, the height difference was a bit awkward and I quickly became somewhat flustered about holding my small umbrella over a stranger’s head. The Greyhound must have sensed this, asking,

“Do you want me to hold it?” and I nervously handed the umbrella off to him. He kept the ear bud out from his ear and I could hear the rap almost clearly.

“What is your name?” I asked as a raindrop fell from the GALLEY-LA logo on my baseball cap to my feet. The Greyhound answered, asking for mine, which I gave. “I haven’t seen you around here. Did you just move in?” He nodded, telling me where he moved from and a bit of why. I questioned some more but did not take up prying too much. The Greyhound found himself asking questions and the conversation was fair compared to the weather.

I walked him to his house and The Greyhound handed the umbrella back to me.

“Thanks,” He spoke. “Wish there were more people nice as you ’round here.” I didn’t know what to say so I settled with a smile and a nod and I walked back through the rain.

Leave a Reply

